• School Business Advisory Services

About our Services

  • School Business Advisory Services (SBAS) is the External Business Services Department for SBCEO serving Santa Barbara County’s 20 K-12 school districts as well as district-sponsored charter schools and the local community colleges. The mission of SBAS is to promote sound financial management practices through fiscal monitoring, analysis, and consultation to fulfill our state-mandated oversight responsibilities. 

    We provide financial oversight as well as quality advisory services and support to school business officials. Our staff reviews budgets, LCAPs, collective bargaining agreements, and other financial documents to promote fiscal solvency. We also work with external local, state, and federal agencies to deliver prompt, accurate payroll tax and retirement reporting, accounts payable auditing and processing, general ledger management, and financial system technical support. 

Escape Information

  • Escape Support

  • Escape Resources

External Resources

Contacts

  • Debbie Breck
    Limited Term Associate Superintendent, Administrative Services 
    dbreck@sbceo.org
    (805) 964-4710, ext. 5237

    Amada Dulay
    Senior Administrative Assistant
    adulay@sbceo.org
    (805) 964-4710, ext. 5201

    John De Voto
    Business Systems Manager
    johnd@sbceo.org
    (805) 964-4710, ext. 5241

    Vacant
    Finance Systems Supervisor
    (805) 964-4710, ext. 5372

    Makenzie Johns
    District Financial Advisor
    mjohns@sbceo.org
    (805) 964-4710, ext. 5259

    Myron Porter
    Payroll Systems Supervisor
    mporter@sbceo.org
    (805) 964-4710, ext. 5280

    Danielle Spahn 
    District Financial Advisor
    dspahn@sbceo.org
    (805) 964-4710, ext. 5273  

    Jenelle Williams
    District Financial Advisor
    jwilliams@sbceo.org
    (805) 964-4710, ext.5221

     


    Staff Responsibilities