• County Board of Education

About the Board of Education

  • The County Board is comprised of seven elected members who serve staggered four-year terms.  Each represents a specific area of the county as identified on this map.  

    In accordance with the California Education Code and other regulations, the board sets SBCEO board policy, approves the SBCEO budget, approves the SBCEO Local Control and Accountability Plan, and serves as an appeals board for inter-district transfer requests, student expulsions, and charter school applications. More information from the California County Superintendents Educational Services Association (CCSESA) on the roles of County Superintendents of Schools and County Boards can be found here.  


    The County Board of Education typically meets the first Thursday of each month at 2 p.m. at the Santa Barbara County Education Office - Cathedral Oaks Campus, Board Room.  During COVID-19, Board meetings are being held on Zoom and the link is provided on the agenda. 

  • Mrs. Marybeth Carty

    Mrs. Marybeth Carty
    Board Member

  • Mrs. Michelle de Werd

    Mrs. Michelle de Werd
    Board Member

  • Mr. Weldon U. Howell, Jr.

    Mr. Weldon U. Howell, Jr.
    Board Member

  • Mr. Bruce Porter

    Mr. Bruce Porter
    Board Member

  • Mrs. Maggi Daane

    Mrs. Maggi Daane
    Board President

  • Judy Frost

    Mrs. Judy Frost
    Board Vice President

  • Dr. Peter R. MacDougall

    Dr. Peter R. MacDougall
    Board Member

  • Dr. Susan Salcido

    Dr. Susan Salcido
    County Superintendent of Schools

2021 Meeting Dates and Materials

  • Click here to access the meeting materials

    Jan. 7
    Feb. 4
    Mar. 4
    Apr. 1
    May 6
    June 3
    June 10* (special meeting at 10 a.m.)
    July 1 (meeting time may be 5 p.m.)
    Aug. 5 (meeting time may be 5 p.m.)
    Sept. 2
    Oct. 7
    Nov. 4
    Dec. 10**

    * Second Thursday of the month
    ** Second Friday of the month

    Note: The July or August board meeting start time may be around 5 p.m. to accommodate a public hearing that cannot take place during or immediately following school hours.

    Meeting Archives


  • Anna Freedland
    Executive Assistant to the County Superintendent of Schools
    (805) 964-4710, ext. 5216