Five Santa Barbara County Schools Named as Distinguished Schools

State Superintendent of Schools Tony Thurmond named five Santa Barbara County schools as 2020 California Distinguished Schools by the California Department of Education (CDE), yesterday. The honorees are Aliso Elementary School in the Carpinteria Unified School District, College School in the College School District, Kellogg Elementary in the Goleta Union School District, Franklin Elementary School in the Santa Barbara Unified School District, and Solvang Elementary School in the Solvang School District. 

"We are proud of the exceptional education programs and practices at these school sites. This award highlights their outstanding work, and we are thrilled their work resulted in this recognition," said Santa Barbara County Superintendent of Schools Susan Salcido. 

The Distinguished Schools program recognizes schools based on performance and progress on the state indicators as specified on the California School Dashboard. Indicators include test scores, suspension rates, and conditions and climate. Elementary schools and secondary schools are recognized in alternate years; therefore, awardees hold the title for two years. 

Every year, two of California's Distinguished Schools Awardees are also eligible to be recognized as a National Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) Distinguished Schools Awardee. 

The 2020 California School Recognition Program Awards Ceremony will take place on Monday, February 10, 2020, at the Disneyland Resort in Anaheim, California. 

A list of past California Distinguished Schools in Santa Barbara County can be found here: